CCS monitoring

Ensuring the safe geological storage of CO2

Proper reservoir selection is paramount to ensuring the safe geological storage of CO2. Only reservoirs well suited to storing CO2 for long periods of time should be considered. To determine their suitability, the geological structures at the potential reservoir site must first be accurately and thoroughly characterized. Numerical modelling is then used to simulate long-term CO2 behaviour and assess the site’s safety in terms of storage.

An in-depth understanding of all proposed storage sites will reveal potential CO2 migration paths in advance, thereby allowing the safest site to be identified in terms of gas behaviour. This process also allows us to evaluate and prevent any potential effects on people and ecosystems  (CO2GEONET, 2008).

By studying naturally existing gas reservoirs, we already have a good understanding of the conditions under which gases remain stored underground. These gases have been trapped naturally in a stable state for millions of years. Major gas leaks are rare in natural reservoirs and are generally caused by significant seismic or volcanic activity, like earthquakes or volcanic eruptions. This underscores the importance of choosing a storage site within a geologically stable area.

The combination of a number of specific conditions are needed before leakage can occur. Consequently, it is highly unlikely taht a well-chosen and carfully engineered CO2 geological storagesite will leak. (translated from CO2GEONET, 2008).

How will sites be monitored?

A number of monitoring methods can be used before, during and after the injection of CO2 to make sure a site remains safe and to verify the effective storage of CO2 within the reservoir. Monitoring is therefore continuous throughout the storage process.

A site’s initial state must be characterized before injection begins by taking several types of measurements. One important step is to measure the natural concentrations of CO2 in the soil, air, groundwater and surface water. This allows the concentrations in the area during and after the injection to be compared to the initial starting conditions, thus identifying any changes caused by operating the storage site (IPCC, 2005).

Monitoring is at its highest level during and immediately following an injection when the risk is greatest. Several complementary techniques used to monitor the injection site include:

  • tracers added to the flow of injected CO2, and monitoring of these tracers within the reservoir and at the surface;
  • pressure and temperature measurements in wells;
  • a recording network to continuously monitor seismic activity;
  • seismic reflection;
  • borehole geophysical methods.

Some of the above techniques will operate on a continuous basis, whereas others represent punctual measurements that provide snapshots at specific moments in time. The geophysical methods can help determine, with various degrees of resolution, the path of the CO2 plume through the reservoir. The same techniques are used in the oil and gas industry, so they represent well established methods.

The information obtained during the CO2 injection phase provides a means of evaluating how well the numerical reservoir model predicts real CO2 behaviour. In cases where the predictions are inconsistent with reality, the model must be refined to produce a more accurate estimate of the gas plume’s diffusion within the geological reservoir.

As the Research Chair work progresses, more information will be available about the monitoring aspect.

Do CO2 leaks pose a risk?

The risk of a massive leak is virtually nil because geologically stored CO2 must break through several barriers to reach the atmosphere. Several mechanisms come into play to stop CO2 from breaching the surface:

  • stratigraphic and structural barriers: CO2 movement is blocked by impermeable caprocks, for example;
  • residual saturation: some of the injected CO2 is immobilized in the water-saturated pores of rocks;
  • geochemical barriers: some of the CO2 is dissolved in water and/or transformed into new minerals.

Consult the storage page for more details about CO2 trapping mechanisms.

The safety of a storage site depends on a combination of physical and geochemical trapping mechanisms. The immobilization of CO2, its dissolution in water, and its transformation into minerals all increase over time (modified after IPCC, 2005).

The safety of a storage site depends on a combination of physical and geochemical trapping mechanisms. The immobilization of CO2, its dissolution in water, and its transformation into minerals all increase over time (modified from IPCC, 2005).

These mechanisms occur at different time scales (immediately after the injection starts in the case of dissolution, and up to several thousand years in the case of mineralization) and they may compete among themselves. Nevertheless, as time goes on, the CO2 becomes increasingly trapped within the reservoir.

A very small risk of diffuse leaks is always present, but the more time that passes, the lower the risk. A leak is caused by a combination of specific factors, such as the location of a reservoir in a geothermal, volcanic or seismic area, the presence of highly fractured zones, the presence of active fault lines, etc. However, an initial site assessment would identify these types of features, and any such site eliminated from the selection process. For these reasons, it is highly unlikely that leaking would occur if proper site selection and design is followed.

Effects of CO2

Even though the risk of a leak from a geological storage site is negligible, it is nonetheless important to know the potential effects of such a leak. CO2 is naturally present in air but becomes dangerous to humans and other living creatures when concentrations exceed 5%. When the CO2 concentration in ambient air approaches 5%, it causes headaches, dizziness and nausea. Above this threshold, the gas can cause death by asphyxiation when oxygen concentrations in the air fall below 16%. However, if CO2 were to escape into an open or flat area, it would disperse rapidly in the air, even on a windless day (CO2GEONET, 2008).

The environmental impact of a CO2 leak depends on whether the site is onshore or offshore. Only onshore storage sites are currently being studied in Québec. In these cases, the effects of a CO2 leak on vegetation would be focused around the gas leak. CO2 can have a lethal effect on plants when its concentration in air exceeds 30% (CO2GEONET, 2008).

The potential impact of a CO2 leak on drinkable groundwater should not to be overlooked, even if the effects would only be local. CO2 can change the chemical composition of water, making it more acidic.

What happened at Lake Nyos?

On August 21, 1986, Lake Nyos in Cameroon “exploded” in a limnic eruption. The eruption released about 1 cubic kilometre of CO2, or about 1 billion cubic metres, killing 1,800 people and 3,000 animals.

Lake Nyos sits inside a volcanic crater. Carbon dioxide, escaping from underground volcanic chimneys, is continuously dissolves and concentrates at the bottom of the lake. In 1986, an earthquake triggered a landslide, which disrupted the stratified layers of water and “overturned” the lake. The CO2-rich water from the bottom rose to the surface and the gas burst out. Heavier than air, it flowed down the sides of the volcano and into adjacent valleys where it asphyxiated all living beings in its path.

Diagram showing the Lake Nyos disaster. Step 1: Before the earthquake, CO2 accumulates at the bottom of the lake. Step 2: After the earthquake, CO2 bursts forth and flows into the valleys.

Diagram showing the Lake Nyos disaster.
Step 1: Before the earthquake, CO2 accumulates at the bottom of the lake.
Step 2: After the earthquake, CO2 bursts forth and flows into the valleys.

Other lakes of this type exist around the world. In most of these cases, preventative degassing of the deeper waters is now underway.

It is important to understand that this scenario would never happen at a geological storage site where CO2 gas is stored at least 800 metres underground and is therefore isolated from the atmosphere.

Surveillance CSC

Garantir la sécurité du stockage géologique

Pour garantir une sécurité optimale du stockage géologique, le réservoir géologique doit être adéquatement choisi. Seuls les réservoirs adaptés pour emprisonner le CO2 à long terme doivent être retenus. Pour ce faire, une caractérisation précise et complète des structures géologiques où se situe le réservoir potentiel doit être réalisée. Des outils de modélisation numériques sont alors utilisés pour simuler le comportement du CO2 sur de longues périodes et ainsi évaluer la sécurité du stockage.

Une connaissance approfondie des sites de stockage doit permettre d’identifier les chemins potentiels de migration du CO2 et ainsi de choisir le site le plus sécuritaire en prévoyant les comportements du gaz. Cela permettra d’évaluer et de prévenir de possibles impacts sur les êtres humains et sur les écosystèmes (CO2GEONET, 2008).

L’étude des réservoirs de gaz existants à l’état naturel permet  de comprendre dans quelles conditions ces gaz sont stockés. En effet, ces gaz sont naturellement piégés dans un état stable pendant des millions d’années. Dans ces réservoirs naturels, les fuites significatives de gaz sont rares et généralement reliées à une activité sismique ou volcanique importante, c’est-à-dire un tremblement de terre ou une éruption volcanique. Ce qui montre bien qu’il est nécessaire de choisir un site de stockage dans un environnement géologiquement stable.

Les fuites sont donc toujours le résultat de la combinaison d’un certain nombre de facteurs bien spécifiques. C’est pourquoi il est peu probable qu’un site de stockage géologique de CO2, soigneusement choisi et conçu, puisse fuir (CO2GEONET, 2008).

Quelle surveillance du site ?

Afin d’assurer la sécurité du site et de contrôler le stockage effectif du CO2 dans le réservoir, plusieurs méthodes de surveillance sont mises en œuvre avant, pendant et après l’injection du CO2. La surveillance du site est donc continue tout au long du processus de stockage.

Avant même le processus d’injection, des mesures sont effectuées afin de caractériser l’état initial du site. Il s’agit, entre autres, de mesurer les concentrations naturelles de CO2 dans le sol, l’air et l’eau souterraine et de surface. Ceci permettra de comparer les conditions du milieu pendant et après l’injection avec les conditions initiales et ainsi identifier tout changement engendré par les opérations sur le site de stockage (IPCC, 2005).

Au moment de l’injection et dans la période immédiate suivant celle-ci, la surveillance doit être maximale. C’est effectivement lors de cette étape que les risques sont les plus élevés. Différentes techniques complémentaires peuvent être mises en œuvre pour surveiller les sites d’injection :

  • ajouts de traceurs dans les flux de CO2 injectés et surveillance de ces traceurs dans le réservoir et à la surface ;
  • mesures de pression et de température dans les puits (forages) ;
  • réseau d’enregistrement en continu de la sismicité ;
  • sismique réflexion ;
  • méthodes géophysiques en forage.

Certaines de ces techniques sont opérées en continu tandis que d’autres n’offrent la possibilité que d’acquérir des mesures de façon ponctuelle dans le temps. Les méthodes géophysiques peuvent aider à déterminer, avec différents degrés de résolution, le chemin suivi par le panache de CO2 dans le réservoir. Ces méthodes sont issues de l’industrie pétrolière et sont donc relativement bien connues.

Les données obtenues pendant la phase d’injection du CO2 permettent de confronter à la réalité le modèle numérique du réservoir qui prédit le comportement du CO2 dans celui-ci. En cas d’incohérence, le modèle devra être mis à jour pour affiner l’estimation de la diffusion du panache de CO2 dans le réservoir géologique.

Existe-il des risques de fuites du CO2 ?

Un risque de fuite massive est quasi nul puisque le CO2 stocké géologiquement devrait franchir différentes barrières avant de pouvoir rejoindre l’atmosphère. En effet, plusieurs mécanismes contribuent à stopper la remontée du CO2 :

  • les barrières stratigraphiques et structurales : la migration du CO2 est stoppée par des roches couvertures imperméables par exemple ;
  • la saturation résiduelle : une fraction du CO2 injecté est immobilisée dans les pores de la roche saturée en eau ;
  • les barrières géochimiques : une partie du CO2 est dissoute dans l’eau et/ou transformée pour former de nouveaux minéraux.

Voir la page sur le stockage pour plus de détails sur les mécanismes de piégeage.

securite_stockage_petit

La sécurité du site de stockage dépend d’une combinaison de mécanismes de piégeage physiques et géochimiques. Avec le temps, l’immobilisation du CO2, la dissolution dans l’eau et la minéralisation augmentent (modifiée de IPCC, 2005).

Ces mécanismes se produisent à des échelles de temps différentes (immédiatement après le début de l’injection dans le cas de la dissolution et jusqu’à quelques milliers d’années dans le cas de la minéralisation) et ils peuvent entrer en compétition les uns avec les autres. Néanmoins, au fur et à mesure que le temps passe, le CO2 est de plus en plus « piégé » dans le réservoir.

Il existe un risque très faible de fuites diffuses, et plus le temps s’écoule, plus ce risque diminue. Une fuite serait le résultat d’une combinaison de facteurs spécifiques (zone géothermique, volcanique ou sismique, fortes fractures, failles actives, …). Ces facteurs sont évalués avant le choix du site de stockage et les sites présentant ces risques sont éliminés. Ainsi, il est peu probable qu’une fuite puisse avoir lieu si le site de stockage a été rigoureusement choisi et conçu.

Impacts du CO2

Même si le risque de fuite d’un site de stockage géologique est quasi nul, il faut connaître les impacts potentiels dus aux fuites de CO2. Le CO2 est naturellement présent dans l’air. Il devient dangereux pour la santé humaine et celle des autres êtres vivants à des concentrations de plus de 5%. Si la concentration de CO2 dans l’air avoisine les 5%, ce gaz provoque des maux de tête, des vertiges et des nausées. Au-delà de ce seuil, il peut entrainer la mort par asphyxie lorsque la concentration d’oxygène dans l’air descend sous les 16%. Néanmoins, si du CO2 s’échappe dans une zone ouverte ou plane, il se disperse rapidement dans l’air même en l’absence de vent (CO2GEONET, 2008).

L’impact possible sur l’environnement varie selon que le site se situe sur terre (onshore) ou en mer (offshore). Au Québec, seuls les sites de stockage onshore sont actuellement à l’étude. Dans un tel cas, l’effet d’une fuite de CO2 sur la végétation est très localisé autour de la fuite de gaz. Au delà d’une concentration de 30% dans l’air, le CO2 peut avoir un effet létal sur les plantes (CO2GEONET, 2008).

L’impact possible d’une fuite de CO2 sur les eaux potables souterraines n’est pas à négliger même si ses effets resteraient très localisés. Le CO2 peut en changer la composition chimique, notamment en la rendant plus acide.

Qu’est-il arrivé au Lac Nyos?

Le 21 août 1986, au Cameroun, le Lac Nyos « explose » (éruption limnique). Il libéra environ un kilomètre cube, équivalent à 1 milliard de m3, de CO2, ce qui entraîna la mort de 1800 personnes et de 3000 animaux.

Le lac Nyos est un lac situé dans le cratère d’un volcan. Du CO2, s’échappant de cheminées volcaniques souterraines, se dissout et se concentre dans le fond du lac continuellement. En 1986, un tremblement de terre engendra un glissement de terrain qui perturba la stratification des eaux du lac (« renversement du lac »). De fait, les eaux profondes du lac, très riches en CO2, sont remontées à la surface et le gaz a alors jailli. Plus lourd que l’air, il s’est écoulé le long des parois du volcan vers les vallées adjacentes où il asphyxia les êtres vivants.

Schéma de l'accident du lac Nyos.

Schéma de l’accident du lac Nyos.
Étape 1 : Avant le tremblement de terre, le CO2 s’accumule au fond du lac.
Étape 2 : Après le tremblement de terre, le CO2 jaillit et s’écoule vers les vallées.

D’autres lacs de ce type existent à travers le monde. Dans la plupart des cas, un dégazage préventif des eaux profondes est maintenant réalisé.

Il faut bien comprendre que ce scénario ne pourrait avoir lieu dans le cas d’un site de stockage géologique de CO2 où le gaz est stocké à au moins 800 mètres de profondeur et donc isolé de l’atmosphère.