CCS : why?

Why is CCS technology an essential tool in the fight against climate change?

Modern society and life as we know it depend heavily on fossil fuels. A simple fact underscores this point: nearly 66% of the world’s electricity is now generated using fossil fuels (OECD/IEA, 2009).

The International Energy Agency (IEA) predicts that this trend is not about to reverse itself. In fact, the demand for energy should continue to increase due to population growth and the economic development of emerging countries. This means that in the coming decades, fossil fuels will most likely continue to supply the majority of the world’s energy needs, with other energy sources not yet “ready” to make up the difference. This dependence on carbon-based energies is a major problem from an environmental point of view.

According to the IPCC, carbon dioxide is responsible for 60% of the anthropogenic greenhouse effect (IPCC, 2005). Carbon dioxide is an inevitable product when fossil fuels (like oil, natural gas and coal) are burned. It is also emitted by some industrial processes (chemical reactions in cement factories and aluminum smelters, etc.).

GES_global_ENG

Breakdown of global CO2 emissions by activity sector in 2005.
Source: OECD/IEA, 2008.

The IEA is of the opinion that no technology or form of energy can singlehandedly reduce the climate changes caused by fossil fuel combustion. Instead, the IEA promotes the extensive development of CCS in conjunction with other existing alternatives, such as renewable energies, nuclear energy, better energy efficiency, etc. Although CCS technology would allow us to continue using fossil fuels while severely limiting their environmental impact through the drastic and rapid reduction of CO2 emissions, it is the widespread adoption of all these solutions that will help reduce our GHG emissions.

The IPCC report on carbon dioxide capture and storage estimates that CCS technology could reduce CO2 emissions by up to 40% during this century (IPCC, 2005). The CCS approach only applies to fixed CO2 emitters, particularly electricity-generating plants and industries.

Québec is a special case because 96% of electricity consumed in the province is generated by hydro-electric sources according to MRNF statistics for 2009. In Québec, it is not the electricity sector but the industrial sector, which produces 32.9% of the province’s GHG emissions, that represents the priority target for CCS technology.

Indeed, 89% of GHG emissions from Québec industrial sector are CO2 emissions, which represent about 24.1 million tonnes of CO2 per year (MDDEFP, 2013). The rest of the emissions from this sector are mainly hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs), perfluorocarbons (PFCs) and nitrous oxide (N2O).

Left: breakdown of Québec’s 2010 greenhouse gas emissions by sector. Right: breakdown of industrial sector’s 2010 greenhouse gas emissions. Source: MDDEFP, 2013.

Left: breakdown of Québec’s 2010 greenhouse gas emissions by sector.
Right: breakdown of industrial sector’s 2010 greenhouse gas emissions.
Source: MDDEFP, 2013.

 

What is the timeframe for industrial deployment?

In order to fulfil its promise of significantly reducing CO2 emissions, CCS must first overcome many technological, economical and legal hurdles if it is to successfully serve as a transition technology while we build a new world of widely available renewable energies. It is also important that CCS deployment be seen as part of a societal project. The technology must be accepted and understood by the general public.


Projected number of CCS projects around the world from now until 2050. Source: OECD/IEA, 2009.

Projected number of CCS projects around the world from now until 2050.
Source: OECD/IEA, 2009.

The main steps in developing CCS technology can be envisioned as follows:

  • scientific research pilot projects from now until 2015;
  • industrial deployment starting in 2020;
  • widespread use by about 2030.

CCS sections – First step: CO2 capture.

References

IEA (2009) Technology Roadmaps – Carbon capture and storage. International Energy Agency. 46 pages.

IPCC (2005) IPCC Special Report on Carbon Dioxide Capture and Storage. Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Cambridge University Press, 442 pages.

MDDEFP (2013) Inventaire québécois des émissions de gaz à effet de serre en 2010 et évolution depuis 1990. Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs du Québec, 20 pages.

OECD/IEA (2008) CO2 capture and storage – A key carbon abatement option. International Energy Agency, Paris, France, 261 pages.

OECD/IEA (2009) Key World Energy Statistics 2009. International Energy Agency. Paris, France, 78 pages.

CSC : pourquoi ?

Pourquoi la technologie du CSC est-elle un instrument incontournable pour lutter contre les changements climatiques ?

Non renouvelables, les énergies fossiles sont la clef de voûte de nos sociétés modernes et de nos modes de vie actuels. A titre d’illustration, près de 66% de la production mondiale d’électricité est aujourd’hui basée sur les énergies fossiles (OECD/IEA, 2009).

Les prévisions de l’Agence Internationale de l’Énergie (AIE ou International Energy AgencyIEA) montrent que la tendance n’est pas prête de s’inverser. En effet, la demande en énergie devrait augmenter du fait de l’accroissement de la population et du développement économique des pays émergents. Ainsi, dans les prochaines décennies, les énergies fossiles devraient continuer à satisfaire la majorité de la demande en énergie, les autres énergies n’étant pas encore « prêtes »  à prendre le relais. Cette dépendance aux énergies carbonées est un problème majeur du point vue environnemental.

D’après le Groupe d’Experts Intergouvernemental sur l’Évolution du Climat (GIEC ou Intergovernmental Panel on Climate ChangeIPCC), le CO2 est responsable de 60% de l’effet de serre d’origine anthropique (IPCC, 2005).  Le CO2 est inévitablement produit, entre autres, lors de l’utilisation de combustibles fossiles comme le pétrole, le gaz naturel et le charbon. De plus, du CO2 est également émis par certains procédés industriels (réactions chimiques dans les cimenteries, dans les alumineries, etc.).

GES_global

Répartition des émissions de CO2 par secteur d’activité au niveau mondial, en 2005.
Source : OECD/IEA, 2008.

L’AIE affirme qu’aucune forme d’énergie ou de technologie ne constitue une solution unique pour réduire les impacts sur le climat liés à l’utilisation des combustibles fossiles. Elle est favorable au développement extensif du CSC en conjonction avec d’autres alternatives existantes, comme les énergies renouvelables, l’énergie nucléaire, l’amélioration de l’efficacité énergétique, etc. En effet, cette technologie permet de continuer à exploiter les énergies fossiles en limitant fortement leur impact environnemental via des réductions massives et rapides des émissions de CO2. C’est donc l’utilisation commune de toutes ces solutions qui aidera à réduire nos émissions de GES.

Le rapport du GIEC consacré au CSC établit que cette technologie pourra permettre de réduire jusqu’à 40% les émissions de CO2 au cours de ce siècle (IPCC, 2005). Le CSC ne concernera que des sources fixes d’émissions de CO2, plus particulièrement les industries et les usines de production d’électricité.

Il faut noter que le Québec représente un cas particulier où 96% de l’électricité consommée est d’origine hydraulique selon les statistiques du MRNF pour l’année 2009.  Au Québec, ce n’est donc pas le secteur électrique mais le secteur industriel, responsable de 32,9% des émissions de GES de la province, qui est le premier concerné par le CSC pour réduire son impact sur le climat.

En effet, 89% des émissions de GES du secteur industriel québécois sont des émissions de CO2, ce qui correspond à environ 24,1 millions de tonnes de CO2 par an (MDDEFP, 2013). Le reste des émissions de ce secteur est principalement des hydrofluorocarbures (HFC), des perfluorocarbures (PFC) et du protoxyde d’azote (N2O).

GES_QC

À gauche, répartition des émissions de GES par secteur d’activité au Québec, en 2010.
À droite, répartition des émissions de GES selon le type de gaz pour le secteur industriel, en 2010.
Source : MDDEFP, 2013.

Un déploiement industriel à quelle échéance ?

S’il ne fait pas de doute que le CSC offre un potentiel important de réduction des émissions de CO2, cette technologie de transition vers un monde où les énergies renouvelables seront très développées a encore besoin de franchir de nombreux obstacles d’ordre technologiques, économiques et juridiques. Le déploiement du CSC doit également s’inscrire dans un projet de société. Cette technologie doit être acceptée et comprise par le grand public.

graph_CSC

Projection du nombre de projets de CSC dans le monde jusqu’en 2050.
Source : IEA, 2009.

Les grandes étapes du développement du CSC peuvent être présentées ainsi :

  • projets-pilotes de recherche scientifique d’ici 2015 ;
  • déploiement industriel à partir de 2020 ;
  • généralisation vers 2030.

Sections sur le CSC – Première étape : captage du CO2.