Introduction CCS

etapes_CSC

Diagram showing the capture, transport and geological storage of CO2.

Carbon dioxide geological storage is an environmental action that reduces greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions in the atmosphere. Geological storage techniques are derived from the enhanced oil recovery (EOR) process, a well known technique used at large scales. In this process, the injection of CO2 into an oil or gas reservoir greatly improves the yield from the hydrocarbon reservoir.

The sequence of CO2 capture, transport and geological storage (the CTS chain) involves the initial capture of CO2 emitted from an industrial source by separating it from other gases using various technologies.

The CO2 is then compressed and transported, generally by pipeline, to the storage site where it will be injected into a selected geological reservoir.

A suitable reservoir for geological storage could be a deep saline aquifer, an oil or gas reservoir that has been depleted or is undergoing depletion, or unmineable coal seams. The CO2 is injected into the reservoir at a depth ranging from 800 to 5,000 metres below surface.

The site will be monitored throughout the CO2 injection process and monitoring will continue after the site has been closed to ensure its security and the safety of people and the environment. Monitoring is a crucial step in the proper functioning of a storage site and in gaining public acceptance for CCS projects.

Why bet on CCS as an environmental action?

First step: CO2 capture.

For more information on CO2, click here.

To see a CCS pilot project, click one of the links below:

Introduction CSC

etapes_CSC

Schéma du captage et du stockage géologique du CO2.

Le stockage géologique du CO2 représente une mesure environnementale permettant de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES). Les techniques de stockage géologique du CO2 sont dérivées du procédé de récupération assistée de pétrole (appelé RAP ou EOR pour Enhanced Oil Recovery).  En effet, l’injection de CO2 dans des réservoirs de pétrole ou de gaz est une technique bien connue et utilisée à grande échelle qui permet d’améliorer grandement les rendements des réservoirs d’hydrocarbures.

La chaîne de captage, transport et stockage géologique du CO2 consiste, tout d’abord, à capter, par séparation des autres gaz, suivant différentes technologies, le CO2 émis par une installation industrielle.

Le CO2 est ensuite comprimé et transporté, généralement par pipeline, jusqu’au lieu de stockage pour être injecté dans le réservoir géologique choisi.

Le réservoir de stockage géologique peut être un aquifère salin profond, un réservoir de pétrole ou de gaz épuisé, ou en voie d’épuisement, ou encore des veines de charbon non exploitables. Le CO2 est donc injecté dans un de ces réservoirs situés à une profondeur de 800 à 5000 mètres.

La surveillance du site s’effectue tout au long du processus d’injection du CO2 ainsi qu’après la fermeture du site afin d’assurer la sécurité du site, de l’environnement et de la population. C’est une étape cruciale au bon fonctionnement du site de stockage et à l’acceptation publique des projets de CSC.

Pourquoi miser sur une utilisation du CSC comme mesure environnementale ?

Première étape : le captage du CO2.

Pour plus d’informations sur le CO2, cliquez ici.

Si vous souhaitez visualiser un projet-pilote de CSC, cliquez ci-dessous :