CO2 capture

CO2 capture is a technique that is already used at the industrial level. For example, at the moment natural gas is produced, it is processed to extract any naturally present CO2. Although CO2 capture technology already exists, its application to industrial sources is not yet widely developed.

At the present time, there are several ways to capture CO2. Each of the technologies presented below require compressors to compress the captured CO2 into a supercritical state before it enters the transportation network.

Where will CO2 be captured?

cheminees_industrielles_3_petit

According to the IPCC, more than half the CO2 emissions around the world are produced by concentrated and localized sources known as “major emitters” (IPCC, 2005). These include, for example, thermal power plants, cement plants, refineries, iron and steel factories, and aluminum factories. We generally consider an industrial facility to be a major emitter when its annual CO2 emissions equal or exceed 100,000 tonnes of CO2. The CCS process is particularly well suited to major emitters.

Capture technologies

(Source : Lecomte, F., Broutin, P., Lebas, E. (éd.) Le captage du CO2 – Des technologies pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. IFP Publications, Paris, France, 204 pages)

Post-combustion capture

postcombustion_eng

Post-combustion CO2 capture technology is considered to be the most promising solution at the industrial level. It covers all the operations that extract diluted CO2 from smokestack emissions produced by combusting fossil fuels (coal, natural gas, oil) or biomass in the presence of air (Lecomte, 2010). There are several different processes for post-combustion capture, the most common right now being CO2 capture by amines acting as of chemical solvents.

The capture unit can be added to existing facilities, which makes for an interesting option because it can apply to different types of industries. It must be kept in mind, however, that the existing facility may need to be significantly modified and that implementing this option will increase the energy consumption of the facility as a whole. The process must be improved before this technology can be widely used at the industrial level.

Capture via oxycombustion

oxycombustion_eng

CO2 capture via oxycombustion is currently at the demonstration stage (for example, at the Total pilot project in France). This technique aims to increase the CO2 content in smokestack emissions by using oxygen instead of air during combustion (Lebas, 2010). It is then a relatively straightforward procedure to separate CO2 from other components in the emissions (mostly water vapour) This technique not only requires modifications to existing facilities but also a continuous supply of pure oxygen.

Pre-combustion capture

precombustion_eng

Pre-combustion CO2 capture consists of extracting CO2 “at the source” by transforming a fuel into a synthetic gas that is a mixture of carbon monoxide (CO) and hydrogen (H2). The synthetic gas is then processed to increase hydrogen production and in so doing, CO2 is formed. The CO2 is separated from the hydrogen and the latter is burned at a thermal plant adapted for zero-CO2 emissions. (Broutin, 2010)

Next step: CO2 transport.

Captage du CO2

Le captage du CO2 est une technique connue qui existe déjà au niveau industriel. A titre d’exemple, le gaz naturel, au moment de son extraction, est traité pour en retirer le CO2 naturellement présent. La technologie existe mais son application à des sources industrielles n’est cependant pas encore développée à grande échelle.

A l’heure actuelle, le captage du CO2 peut être réalisé de plusieurs façons. Pour chacune des technologies présentées ci-dessous, des compresseurs seront nécessaires pour comprimer sous forme « supercritique » le CO2 capté avant de pouvoir le fournir au réseau de transport.

Où capter le CO2 ?

cheminees_industrielles_3_petit

D’après le GIEC, plus de la moitié des émissions mondiales de CO2 est produite par des sources concentrées et localisées appelées « grands émetteurs » (IPCC, 2005). Il s’agit, par exemple, de centrales thermiques, de cimenteries, de raffineries, d’usines sidérurgiques, d’alumineries. Généralement, on considère qu’une installation industrielle est un grand émetteur lorsque ses émissions annuelles de CO2 sont égales ou supérieures à 100 000 tonnes. Le CSC est particulièrement bien adapté à ces grands émetteurs.

Technologies de captage

(Source : Lecomte, F., Broutin, P., Lebas, E. (éd.) Le captage du CO2 – Des technologies pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. IFP Publications, Paris, France, 204 pages)

Captage en postcombustion

Postcombustion

La technologie de captage du CO2 en postcombustion est considérée comme la solution la plus aboutie sur le plan industriel. Elle consiste en l’ensemble des opérations d’extraction du CO2 dilué dans les fumées produites par la combustion à l’air d’un combustible fossile (charbon, gaz naturel ou pétrole) ou de biomasse (Lecomte, 2010). Il existe différents procédés pour réaliser le captage par postcombustion, le plus courant à l’heure actuelle, étant généralement celui du captage du CO2 par des amines faisant office de solvants chimiques.

L’unité de captage peut être, a priori, ajoutée aux installations existantes, ce qui en fait une filière intéressante car elle peut ainsi s’appliquer à diverses industries. Toutefois, on doit prendre en compte que des modifications non négligeables sur l’installation existante peuvent être nécessaires et que la mise en place de cette option engendre une augmentation énergétique de l’ensemble des installations. Des améliorations au processus devront être réalisées avant que cette technologie puisse être utilisée à grande échelle industrielle.

Captage par oxycombustion

Oxycombustion

Le captage du CO2 par oxycombustion est actuellement au stade de la démonstration (par exemple, dans le projet-pilote de Total, à Lacq, en France). Cette technique vise à augmenter la teneur en CO2 des fumées de combustion en utilisant de l’oxygène à la place de l’air lors de la combustion (Lebas, 2010). Il est alors ensuite relativement facile de séparer le CO2 des autres composés présents dans les fumées (essentiellement de l’eau). Cette technique requiert des modifications aux installations existantes de même qu’un apport continu en oxygène pur.

Captage par précombustion

 Précombustion

Le captage du CO2 par précombustion consiste à extraire le CO2 « à la source » en commençant par transformer un combustible en un gaz de synthèse qui est un mélange de monoxyde de carbone (CO) et d’hydrogène (H2). Ce gaz de synthèse est ensuite traité pour accroître la production d’hydrogène et au cours de laquelle se forme le CO2. Le CO2 est alors séparé de l’hydrogène et ce dernier est ensuite brulé dans une installation thermique adaptée sans aucune émission de CO2. (Broutin, 2010)

Étape suivante : le transport du CO2.